Latest News

Tissue Immunity in Health and Disease

The Bernie Sweet Clinical Research...

Awards for medical researchers with great ideas


The AMRF Distinguished Scientist Award


This award, honours prominent Medical Research Scientists at Austin Health.


For more details about Austin LifeSciences ResearchFest and the awards

click on the following link  ResearchFest


The impressive list of recipients illustrates the calibre of research at Austin Health.


2000 Professor Ian McKenzie 

2001 Professor Ken Hardy

2002 Professor Samuel Berkovic

2003 Professor William Louis

2004 Professor Arthur Shulkes

2005 Professor George Jerums

2006 Professor Geoffrey Donnan

2007 Professor Rinaldo Bellomo

2008 Professor Ego Seeman

2009 Professor Louise Burrell

2010 Professor Mary Galea

2011 Professor David Hare 

2012 Professor Ingrid Scheffer

2013 Professor Joseph Proietto

2014 Professor Andrew Scott

2015 Professor Peter Angus

2016 Professor Julie Bernhardt

2017 Professor Christopher Rowe

2018 Professor Susan Walker

2019 Professor Jeffrey Zajac


To be considered for nominations, the nominee must:


  • Be a senior medical research scientist with an international reputation
  • Be a Head of a Department or Research Group
  • Have made a significant contribution to medical research
  • Have fostered young medical research scientists and have supervised postgraduate students.


Nominations are welcome from any member of staff.

For more details about the awards click on the following link  ResearchFest



The AMRF Young Investigator Award


This award encourages a young researcher to further his/her research career by enabling attendance at a national or international scientific meeting or at a relevant professional development course.


For more details about Austin LifeSciences ResearchFest  and the awards

click on the following link ResearchFest


Past recipients (and research topic):


2008 Cherie Chiang (Mineralisation and bone resorption are regulated by the androgen receptor in male mice)

2009 Danya Vears (SCARB2 mutations in progressive myolconus epilepsy without renal failure)

2010 Phuong Phan (Walking on level and sloped surfaces following stroke)

2011 Clare Whitehead (Measuring hypoxia-induced mRNA in maternal blood to detect fetal hypoxia in-utero)

2012 Natasha Holmes (Organism factors associated with elevated vancomycin minimum inhibitory concentration in Staphlococcus aureus bacteraemia)

2013 Fiona Brownfoot (Pravastatin quenches oxysterol-induced upregulation of soluble endoglin in primary endothelial cells: a potential therapeutic for preeclampsia)

2014 Jennifer Cori (The effect of arousal and subsequent hypocapnia on genioglossus muscle activity in obstructive sleep apnea)

2015 Jessie Chieh-Hsin Yang (Identification and characterisation of genes influencing insulin secretion and glycaemic variability in mice and men)

2016 Salvatore Mangiafico (Untangling The Role Of The Alzheimer's Protein Tau In Type 2 Diabetes)

2017 Riley Morrow (Manipulating Myc expression as a novel therapeutic strategy for gastric cancer)

2018 Dinali Fernando (Advanced glycation end products (AGEs)derived from diets have more impact on the progression of fatty liver disease than endogenously derived AGEs)

2019 Teresa MacDonald (Increasing fetal growth velocity increases the risk of shoulder dystocia among non-macrosomic foetuses)

Website by